MSE Awards

Darrell SchlomProfessor Darrell Schlom was awarded the 2021 James C. McGroddy Prize for New Materials Recipientfrom the American Physical Society (APS) ”For pioneering the atomic-layer-by-layer synthesis of new metastable complex-oxide materials, and the discovery of resulting novel phenomena.” Read more here.



Uli WiesnerProfessor Uli Wiesner, has been recognized with a Special Creativity Award by the National Science Foundation (NSF). This will provide him with a two-year extension of his existing NSF single investigator award.



Chris OberProfessor Chris Ober was awarded with a 2020 Research Excellence Award from Cornell Engineering.



Mike ThompsonProfessor Mike Thompsonhas been appointed as the Dwight C. Baum Professor in Engineering.



Jin SuntivichAssociate Professor Jin Suntivich was awarded the 2020 James and Mary Tien Award for Teaching Excellence from the College of Engineering.




Maya MatrirossyanMaya Martirossyan, a rising fourth year graduate student in Prof. Julia Dshemuchadse’s group, received The Dolores Zohrab Liebmann Fellowship which supports graduate students in the humanities, social sciences or natural sciences.




Hannah ContrerasHannah Contreras, Class of 2021, was the recipient of an NSF Fellowship Award.



Konrad HedderickKonrad Hedderick, a rising fifth year graduate student in Prof. Lara Estroff’s group, received an Office of Science Graduate Student Research (SCGSR) Program award from the U.S. Department of Energy.




Jalen HarrisJalen Harris, a rising second year student in Prof. Nicole Benedek’s lab, received a Computational Science Graduate Fellowship from the Department of Energy.