2023 MSE Junior Awards


James L. Gregg Outstanding Junior Award

The James L. Gregg Award was established in memory of Professor James L. Gregg. It is awarded to the “outstanding junior or juniors” as determined by the cumulative GPA after the first semester of the junior year as well as involvement in the academic program. The James L. Gregg Prize is funded in part by the James L. Gregg Prize fund, which was donated by Mrs. Doris Meigs.

Winners: Annika Jackson & Anna Lin

Professors with awards winners

MSE Undergraduate Research Award

Awarded to one student (juniors only) each year who has exhibited both an excellence in academics and also a dedication to materials research through active participation in faculty sponsored research projects, leadership in project teams etc. These students exemplify the scholarly excellence that will enable them to become pathfinders in the future in the materials industry, academia, or other career choices.

Funding support provided by the Electronic Packaging Fund donated to the department by Donald Seraphim (IBM), Ronald C. Lasky (IBM), and Che-Yu Li (Cornell Professor MSE (proceeds from their book, “Principles of Electronic Packaging”)

Winner: Casey Kim

Professor with award winner

MSE Undergraduate Leadership Award

Awarded to a junior or juniors based on their achievements as demonstrated holistically by academics, research, service, and community engagement including innovative development of outreach and service to the community through department related activities. Success is often fostered by non-academic skills as much as technical excellence and this award is to recognize students who push the boundaries of an engineering education.

Funding support provided by the Electronic Packaging Fund

Winner: Chase “Blue” Shapiro & Molly Stephenson

Award winners with professors

More Spotlights